Trois, Tres, Three!

Week 39 (T): a rambly sort of post about the significance and beauty of the number three (3)

I’ve previously written about the Rule of Three, but what about other things that come in threes? Turns out there’s more than I thought. Here’s a brief, slightly rambling list about witchy things that come in threes.

Three

While looking at Wikipedia’s entry about the writing principle called the rule of three (I got lost on the way to the page about the witchy version of the rule of three), I discovered the Latin phrase “omne trium perfectum”. This translates to either “every set of three is complete” or “everything that comes in threes is perfect”. For some reason, upon reading this my first thought was of the Triple Goddess. I think this phrase is also a reminder that while bad things come in threes, good things do too.

The second thing is this poem from “the Scottish Play” (yes, I’m superstitious). Shakespeare is a genius, but these three lines from the witches are just particularly phenomenal. Maybe it’s a little cheesy and overly theatrical, but sometimes I use this verse to seal a spell. It’s just so perfect. And old poems always somehow feel like they hold more power than ones that have been written more recently.

Thrice to thine and thrice to mine
And thrice again, to make up nine.
Peace! The charm’s wound up.
         – Shakespeare
Since this is a post about the power of the number three, I’ll just make this a quick list of three things. One of my pretty kitty girls is a tricolor cat, sometimes also called a calico. Maya is white, black, and an orange-brown. What’s fascinating to me about tricolor cats is that they’re considered lucky in quite a few different cultures. The Japanese maneki neko (translation: beckoning cat) is also most commonly tricolored. I’ve been feeling very blessed to have a lucky cat in my house. Things have been a little rough, so I need all the luck I can get.
I know last week was the week I said I’d be back to a normal posting routine, but let’s just try to make it this week instead shall we?
Say something

