Stream of Life

Week 38 (S): Stream of Life

Stream of Life is a Bengali poem by Rabindranath Tagore that is one of my favorites. I discovered that a composer named Garry Schyman put it to music, which made it even more beautiful. The singer is Palbasha Siddique.

And the English translation of the original poem, courtesy of Wikipedia, is below.

The same stream of life
that runs through my veins
night and day runs through
the world and dances in
rhythmic measures.

It is the same life that
shoots in joy through the
dust of the earth in
numberless blades of grass
and breaks into tumultuous
waves of leaves and
flowers.

It is the same life that is
rocked in the ocean-cradle
of birth and of death, in ebb
and in flow.

I feel my limbs are made
glorious by the touch of this
world of life. And my pride
is from the life-throb of
ages dancing in my blood
this moment.

Say something

