No Pentacle for Me, Thanks

Week 31 (P): on why I don’t wear a pentacle

I don’t wear the eye-catching pentacle anymore, but I used to. When I first came to the Pagan path, the pentacle was one of the most visible indicators I could find to proclaim my witchiness. As a result, I clung to it for years. I wanted to be able to recognize other witches in public, and to have them recognize me, so I always kept an eye out for someone wearing a pentacle. My heart jumped every time I saw someone wearing one. Then, upon striking up a conversation in hopes I’d meet a like-minded witchy person, I would inevitably be disappointed.

my faith is not your shitty fashion statement

my faith is not your shitty diy fashion statement

As the years have passed, I’ve come to realize that a pentacle is a less than reliable indicator of whether or not I actually want to interact with the person wearing it. The people who wear pentacles that I’ve run into are, by and large, wearing it solely for shock value. I’m not interested in meeting those kinds of people; I spent enough time with them as a teenager hanging out at Hot Topic.

as always, Fuck Yeah Wiccan Raven is on point

as always, Fuck Yeah Wiccan Raven is on point

By contrast, when I encounter someone wearing the triple goddess symbol, I have generally gotten along with that person swimmingly. This isn’t to say that everybody who wears a pentacle is an idiot and everyone who wears the triple moon is awesome. But as far as my experiences go, that’s generally proved true. Of course, now I wear a tiny pentacle ring, which changes things a bit. But it’s usually the ostentatious pentacle-wearers you have to watch out for. Subtlety in jewelry choice appears to have a pretty solid causal relationship with whether or not I want to talk to you.

7 responses

  1. Oh, my! That pentacle earring…is that yarn? I used to have a pentacle inside a crescent moon, which I loved. It seems that often a pentacle incorporated into another design, such as a moon, tree, ivy, or inside the triple moon is more likely to be a Pagan symbol than a big pentacle by itself. This isn’t always the case, though. I’ve seen a few women with pentacles tattooed on their necks, about where a long earring would dangle. I did assume they were Pagan, just because the symbol can’t be easily hidden so it’s likely to mean more to them. I haven’t worn a pentacle in years.

    July 31, 2014 at 8:19 am

    • I think it is yarn, yes. I’ve seen the pentacle/crescent moon mashups and think they’re usually quite lovely. And you make a good point about pentacles incorporated with other symbols.

      July 31, 2014 at 9:13 pm

  2. Dyslexic Witch

    I used to wear my all the time, too, with those same hopes and many of the same results. I just don’t wear it anymore. No need for it. I display my faith and practice in other, often more subtle ways.

    August 1, 2014 at 7:49 pm

  3. Same here. I used to wear my pentacle ring hoping that someone in my dismal town was following the same path. But, I got the same results, so it now sits on my desk.

    August 1, 2014 at 8:00 pm

  4. I have one tattoo’d on my back below my neck so I haven’t worn one in years. I have a pretty one, but that’s worn mainly during public ritual as a bit of bling to go with my other ritual get up.

    August 2, 2014 at 12:14 am

  5. I don’t wear one anymore either. Too many fakes out there doing it to scare people. I have mine with my witchy stuff, and that is where it stays. I don’t wear anything that would identify me as a witch. In fact, people are generally surprised to find out I am because I am so “normal”…whatever that means. Lol

    August 2, 2014 at 8:54 pm

  6. I still wear a fairly large pentacle, though it is somewhat subtle. I don’t wear it to be easily recognized, but because I still believe in its symbolism. I have experienced this same phenomena, though. Most of the experienced Pagans I meet wear triskele, moons or other symbols.

    August 4, 2014 at 9:24 am

Say something

