Celebrating Solstice

I’ve always wanted to watch dawn on the summer solstice and this morning I finally made it happen. There’s a stone circle near here (I think it was somebody’s senior art project), but it’s got a wonderful witchy feel all the same. There were a couple other folks there for some kind of astronomy lecture, but they left me respectfully alone. So I got to sit with a candle in my hands and shiver through an hour long meditation.

summer solstice candle 2014

Watching the sun come up feels somehow numinous. I scattered lavender in thanks for all the joy that has recently come into my life. I got engaged yesterday (Future Mrs. Anonywitch proposed yesterday and I proposed to her this morning – we wanted to do a dual proposal, and both turned out beautifully). Everyone I love has had such a wonderful response, oozing excitement for us even when some of them have been going through some rough stuff. I am so grateful for all the love in my life.

CameraZOOM-20140621073642942

My engagement ring was designed with the stone meanings in mind. It’s meant to resemble a dandelion (it’s an abstract interpretation) in reference to a song we both adore. I chose citrine because it reminds the wearer of the fullness of life and encourages creativity. I think creativity is a necessity for long-term relationships. It’s also excellent for transforming negative emotions into positive ones. The emeralds are for compassion. They’re sometimes called the “stone of successful love”, as it nurtures the heart. Combined, they seemed perfect for an engagement ring.

summer solstice sun 2014

The glow of the sun against my closed eyelids has transcendent qualities. When everything is golden and glowing with early morning mist, it seems like there are infinite possibilities. Getting up at 4 a.m. was well worth the experience of watching the summer solstice dawn.

 

2 responses

  1. priestessavalonrainsong

    This is beautiful and I love the ring. Many blessings to you both!

    June 22, 2014 at 12:40 am

  2. machinegunmama

    Well wishes your way! Congratulations 🙂

    June 22, 2014 at 12:57 pm

Say something

