On Love Spells

Week 24 (L): on (self) love spells

The biggest love of your life should be you. Gala Darling, a fashion blogger from New Zealand, originally planted the idea in my head a little more than four years ago. The idea that we should romance ourselves, court ourselves, love our selves as deeply as we love other people. To wit, I’ve been working on my own self-love spell for a while. It isn’t done, so I won’t be posting a finished ritual yet, but I figured I could at least post some things to give you ideas for crafting your own.

IMG_20140605_180721

I knew I wanted to use kunzite and rose quartz for this spell. Kunzite is good for awakening the heart chakra and inspiring unconditional love, which is an important component of self-love. It also helps with healing heartache. Rose quartz is a good all-purpose stone, also for unconditional love. It works by siphoning off negative energy and gently transforming it into loving energy. These seemed like an ideal combination for this type of spell.

I decided that jasmine, lavender, and pink roses would make a fitting combination for herbs. Jasmine is excellent for love, and prophetic dreams as well. Lavender is my go-to, so that was a given. Roses have long been used in love magic, which is why they’re still so popular for weddings. I wanted something that smelled nice, so this combination was also chosen with that in mind. The resultant potion will be put into that lovely pink bottle pictured above. These, combined with a mala made of rose quartz on purple silk thread and that lovely pink moonstone ring of mine, were all very fitting for the goal of self-loving.

IMG_20140605_181256

This heart-shaped hunk of rose quartz is something I use to focus when I’m meditating. I think it will also prove to be excellent for this ritual. As you might have noticed by now, this spell is heavy on the use of rose quartz, for the reasons described above. When this ritual does get done, it will be one of the most elaborate I’ve ever done. I’ve been waiting for a good full moon where I’m not busy with other things, which unfortunately has been hard to come by.

Self-love is one of the many qualities I think witches ought to possess. Self-love is something that is an ongoing journey of seeking, much like other magical skills that can be continually improved upon. Loving yourself is a journey worth taking.

Say something

