Witchy Jewelry

Week 20 (J): jewelry

Confession: I really like sparkly things. Interestingly, I don’t have a lot of pagan jewelry, but what I do have holds a goodly amount of meaning. Not all of it is identifiably pagan though. What follows is a brief explanation and accompanying photos of my small collection. Most of them are just reminders of faith, though some have more explicit purposes. Like Mama Fortuna, I find that rings work best for magical purposes, as they’re on my hands which I see regularly during the course of the day.

CameraZOOM-20140506203118028

This tiny pentacle ring is something I wear daily, on the middle finger of my right hand. I bought it at Sacred Grove the last time my witch-sister and I were together in person. I had wanted a subtle pentacle ring for years, and finally found this one, in the perfect size. I like a daily reminder of faith that’s a little more tangible than my triple goddess tattoo, yet not so visible that it causes people to question me about it.

 

 

 

PhotoGrid_1399464019346

I wear the Medusa pendant when I am seeking change. Snakes have always been important in my life, and their constant cycle of shedding their skin to emerge anew makes them the perfect symbol for rebirth. I will also occasionally use this pendant as a reminder for when I am doing a banishing spell. I think of banishing spells as a cycle of renewal, so the Medusa is pretty apt.

 

 

 

 

CameraZOOM-20140506203156755

Originally I bought this pink moonstone ring because I just really like pink moonstone. It seems to be a relatively unusual stone, as I’ve never seen it anywhere but in California and people frequently comment on it, wondering what the stone is. Last year I drafted a self-love spell and decided that pink moonstone would be a perfect daily reminder. I haven’t finished the spell yet, but this ring has been waiting to be used for it. Some full moon soon I hope!

 

 

 

CameraZOOM-20140506203029959

This is one of my oldest pieces of pagan jewelry. I bought this triple moon ring from the Pyramid Collection years and years ago, and for a while wore it as a daily reminder of faith. Now that I have the tiny pentacle ring and my triple goddess wrist tattoo, I find I wear this ring far less frequently. It’s also quite large and heavy, neither of which really suit my jewelry preferences.

 

 

 

CameraZOOM-20140506202758833

I bought this pendant depicting Brighid over a decade ago. I think I found it in some junk shop, tucked away in a dusty glass case. I don’t wear it much since it’s very heavy–actually it feels like solid pewter–but I did string it on a necklace with some really beautiful garnets and amethyst.

 

 

 

IMG_20140509_124242

This is the only true piece of ritual jewelry I own, in that it’s something I don’t wear for anything but magical practice. I’m pretty sure this is a necklace my mother was getting rid of, and I rescued it from the donation box. What initially attracted me to it was the delicacy of the beadwork. When I was a serious practicing pagan, I noticed that the colors represent the four elements: earth (green), air (yellow), fire (red), and water (blue). Now I wear it when I am doing a full-on ritual (which is rare), or when I am seeking balance through spellwork.

divider

I use jewelry as a way to help me focus during spellwork or ritual, as well as a reminder of my faith. My jewelry is usually subtle enough that it doesn’t provoke unwanted conversation, which is nice. But it also can be a good introduction to the topic if I feel the need to chat about paganism to people I don’t know. So it really serves a variety of purposes.

in all their magical glory

Do you use any magical jewelry? What does it look like? Do you wear it openly or secretly?

Further Reading

Harzgeist on Jewelry with Religious Symbols

Itenumuti on Sacred Jewelry

Mama Fortuna on Jewelry 

3 responses

  1. I have a heap of necklaces that I’ve bought from Forest Spirit Jewelery (https://www.facebook.com/ForestSpiritJewelry) and I change the necklace depending on what I’m wanting based on the property of the stone. Plus there’s a few that I’ve made, and that I’ve bought from my Witch-Sister’s store (www.lenoresgrimoire.com) I have sooooooooo much jewelery!!

    May 18, 2014 at 5:20 pm

  2. Pingback: On Love Spells | Anonywitch

  3. Pingback: No Pentacle for Me, Thanks | Anonywitch

Say something

