How to Make a Home

Week 15 (H): on making a house a home with a house blessing bottle

my current house blessing jar

my current house blessing jar

I move a lot. In the past nine years, since I moved out of the dorms & my parent’s house, I’ve lived in nine different places. And in every one of these nine apartments, I have done some sort of house blessing. This type of ritual is a large part of making my new place really feel like home.

Writing your own rituals is excellent practice. But I also think that it can be very valuable to find inspiration in the rituals of others. Below is a ritual for a house blessing. I hope this gives you some inspiration for your own. And, if this one resonates with you, please use it. I only ask that you credit me with its creation, modifying as you desire (per my Creative Commons license for all the contents of this blog).

divider

This is a ritual that is preferably done before furniture is moved in, but it can also be done after you’ve moved everything in. Ideally you’ll have all the people who live in the house participating. My wonderful partner enthusiastically participated in the re-dedication when she moved in with me, but your mileage may vary.

You will need:

  • a glass bottle, whatever size you like (mine is a little bit shorter than the length of my hand)
  • herbs that represent all the things you want for your life in this house/apartment
  • a candle in a scent/color of your choice (I used Terra Essential Scents house warming candle)
  • a smudge stick (I like sage) or incense
  • rosemary or lavender oil (I picked lavender)

Decorate a house bottle. The purpose of this bottle is to protect, bless, and dedicate the space. I typically use a glass paint marker in cerulean and draw interlocking spirals that cover most of the bottle (see above). Bake to set the color. Once the bottle cools, I filled mine with the following potion:

  • a cinnamon stick (for luck, purification, and protection)
  • basil (harmony)
  • allspice & rosemary (vitality)
  • anise & rice (protection)
  • cloves (protection and love)
  • lavender (purification, love, protection, and to promote peace in the house)
  • sage (longevity, wisdom, and protection)
  • thyme (health and purification)
  • salt (purification)

I also added the following crystals to the herb mixture above:

Invoke your goddesses of choice (I called upon Brighid, for new endeavors, and Kali, for protection. They’re also my guardian goddesses. I know quite a few people who invoke Hestia for their house blessings.) Light the candle, to signal the start of the blessing: I used a candle specifically charged for house warming, which smelled utterly lovely (peppermint, vanilla, and lavender) and was embedded with a piece of blue agate.

Smudge the space with sage, taking care not to set off fire alarms. If possible, circle the perimeter of the building as well. Be discreet, but take your time, focusing on cleansing and blessing your new space. Use rosemary or lavender oil to draw an invoking pentagram* on the door or threshold. Alternatively (or perhaps additionally), plant rosemary by the door. I also hung this miniature broom on the door, with its bristles soaked in lavender oil. Folklore says that a broom on the door wards off negativity. Now if only I could remember where I’d read that!

I bought this handmade broom at a local farmer's market

I bought this handmade broom at a local farmer’s market

Once back inside, after finishing with the smudging, stand in a room or hallway with a view of the door through which you’ll enter most often. Fill your house bottle with the prepared potion of herbs and stones. As you put in the stopper, offer the following words to the Goddess:

Goddess of the home and hearth,
bless these walls and give them warmth.
Bless the windows, roof, and floor.
Bring joy to all who grace my door!

Grant to those who enter here
Relief from sorrow, pain, and fear.
Bring rest and comfort to the tired.
Turn rage to peace – quench its fire.

Make this home a happy place
Where friends feel welcomed by this space.
Please see that only good befalls
Those who dwell within these walls. 

Carry the bottle from room to room, asking the Goddess to bless each space. If you live in a studio or one big room, carry the bottle to all the corners of the room. Use this ritual in conjunction while chanting the house blessings below, if desired, or craft a spontaneous prayer for each individual room. I chanted the first continuously as I walked through the house, then said the second once for each room, but do what works for you.

Ever blessed
Ever harmonized
Ever protected

and

Protect this home
Cleanse this place
Goddess bless
this sacred space

Once you have gone through every room, place the house bottle in a central space where you will see it most days. Reaffirm this blessing as desired (particularly if someone moves in with you, or if you get a new pet). Blow out the candle and give thanks.

When you move, scatter the contents of the bottle, on the property if desired, and give thanks to the Goddess for having made your house a home.

* I thought I did my invoking pentagrams like most pagans, but upon further research that’s apparently not the case. Mine go from the top to the right-hand bottom point, across to the left-hand side point, over to the right-hand side point, then back down to the left-hand bottom point. In case you were curious.

One response

  1. Pingback: Genus: Lavandula | Anonywitch

Say something

