Emergency Ritual Kit

Week 10 (E): emergency ritual kit

Ever had to do an emergency ritual? Or been traveling and realized you really just needed to build a mini altar at the drop of a hat? Yeah, me too. (Ok, so maybe I’m the only weirdo around here.) But I do like to have this kind of thing on hand for just such an occasion.

Sometimes you just need a candle or three, and you’re somewhere other than your usual spot. I’m lucky enough to have an altar in my house, so most of my rituals and spellwork take place at home. I’m also blessed to live across the street from a big beautiful park, with plenty of hidden ponds and groves of trees to hide away in and light a stick of incense. But sometimes, you’re just not at home, with all your beloved tools and familiar items left behind and you’re really feeling the pull.

That’s where the emergency ritual kit comes in. This type of kit is also good for rituals on the go or perhaps contributing to group rituals. Here’s what’s in mine (listed deosil):

  1. Stick incense (I never bring a holder because I just stick them in the ground, but that might be another useful piece to have on hand)
  2. Candle in a jar with a lid (makes it easier to transport even if the wax is still warm)
  3. Matches or lighter (my trusty lighter folds down to keep the end from scorching anything else)
  4. Small knife (only included when I am not traveling by air because I don’t think the TSA would like that very much)
  5. Salt
  6. Amethyst (I wrote here about how amethyst is my go-to crystal to work with, so it makes sense to have a piece in my portable altar kit)
  7. Tiny figurine or other totem (this is my tiny crystal goddess figurine, which hangs out on my altar when it’s not in the emergency kit)
  8. Small bowl (this particular one is hand carved from soapstone from a lovely little Etsy shop that unfortunately no longer exists)

I like to make more elemental-focused altars when I’m out of my element traveling. Since I’m usually near a body of water, I fill the small bowl with water. The salt is to represent earth (particularly useful if the ground is frozen), the stick incense is for air, and the candle is for fire. On my home altar, my tools represent the elements, but there’s no literal representation of them as there is with my traveling altars.

As of now, I don’t have a regular carrying case for these items. They just hang out in my altar at home, but when I know I might want something like it with me, these are the items I gather together most often. I was thinking of getting a nice sturdy box to house these, almost like a tackle box but flatter, just so they’re always ready, but that hasn’t happened quite yet.

Where to Get Things & Further Reading

Create a Portable Altar Kit

Emergency Ritual Kit

Instructables: A Wiccan Pocket Altar

Magicraft Shop

Maria Thorlund

Portable Altars for the Busy Pagan

Practical Paganism: 20 Clever Altar Ideas

What to Take with Me in a Portable Altar Kit

Why Bother with a Portable Altar?

5 responses

  1. I have a portable altar too! I’ve been meaning to post pictures of mine.

    March 6, 2014 at 2:36 pm

  2. I use a basket to hold my portable ritual items. It has 7 day candles (though in the past I’ve used jar candles as you mention), lighter, salt, sage smudging stick, a big shell for offerings and usually I throw in a few things when headed to group rituals or events when I know I’ll want to set up an altar. Great post!

    March 7, 2014 at 1:54 pm

    • I know a lot of folks who sing the praises of 7 day candles, but I haven’t gotten into them (yet). I love the idea of keeping a shell for offerings – I have a big abalone shell that’s really more of an art piece than anything, but I’ve often thought about using it as an offering bowl.

      March 7, 2014 at 7:45 pm

  3. It’s so blue and pretty…

    I do so few rituals that, if I’m out and suddenly feel it necessary, I’ll usually go through it in my mind like it’s all in front of me. It’s hard for me to tell if it works, but I usually feel better afterwards anyway. I might try making a small kit, though. I love the color coordination. It makes it feel like a real whole instead of a bunch of things cobbled together.

    March 11, 2014 at 10:02 am

    • Ironically, the color coordination was accidental. It was only after I photographed it that I realized it was pretty matchy-matchy.

      March 11, 2014 at 7:31 pm

Say something

