From Amethyst, With Love

Week 2 (A): amethyst (a.k.a. violet quartz, SiO2, etc)

I work a fair amount with crystals. Mostly I use them as meditation aids, but I also add them to spell bottles and place them strategically on my altar when doing spellwork. For example, I have a nice quartz pyramid on my altar, which I use to focus and amplify my intentions. But of all the crystals I work with, amethyst is generally my first pick. I use it for pretty much everything, from creating a soothing environment to enhancing affection to protection.

There’s a piece of amethyst in my house blessing bottle to inspire peace and love in both inhabitants and visitors. When I start a series of planned chakra meditations later this year, I plan to use a piece to stimulate the crown chakra. Most books will mention amethyst as an all-inclusive healing stone, good for enhancing meditation. Simon and Sue Lily also recommend amethyst to maintain equilibrium in your life.

Cassandra Eason suggests that amethysts are good for emotional healing. Perhaps this is why when I was going through particularly painful periods of adolescence, I insisted on wearing amethyst almost every day. I was teased something vicious in middle school when I came out of the broom closet, and having amethyst against my skin reminded me that somewhere, someone loved me. Amethyst brought some measure of peace to this former tween scapegoat.

In my favorite book on crystals, Judy Hall’s The Crystal Bible says that amethyst, when used in combination with meditation, “turns thoughts away from the mundane into tranquility and deeper understanding” (54). Hall agrees with other authors when she says that amethyst helps to balance extremes. It also encourages spiritual wisdom and love of the divine, which explains why it works so well in conjunction with the crown chakra. Interestingly, Crystal Vaults disagrees and says that amethyst works best for stimulating the third eye chakra, but I prefer to work with lapiz lazuli for that purpose.

All in all, amethyst is a powerful stone that’s good for a variety of purposes. It’s also incredibly easy to find. The geodes are particularly beautiful. My parents have a huge one that I’m coveting. I’ve seen some incredibly beautiful (and incredibly expensive), gigantic geodes that stand nearly as tall as me at gem shows. I suppose what I like best about amethyst is that, regardless of what you’re using it for, it seems to achieve your purposes with love.

When I grow up, I want a massive amethyst geode that’s been fashioned into a table. I would use it for an altar and it would be wonderful.

amethysttable2

Further Reading

Crystal Vaults: Amethyst.

Eason, Cassandra. 2010. The Complete Crystal Handbook.

Hall, Judy. 2003. The Crystal Bible: A Definitive Guide to Crystals.

Lilly, Simon and Sue. 2010. Crystal Healing: The Practical Guide to Using Crystals for Health and Well-Being.

7 responses

  1. lovely post! and could you imagine that amethyst table as an altar? *mighty longing*

    January 9, 2014 at 3:13 pm

  2. onyx1688

    i love amethysts too!! one of my favorite stones, beside jasper and onyx.. and very well researched and written 🙂

    January 9, 2014 at 3:19 pm

  3. That table is amazingly beautiful! What an altar it would make! I haven’t worked with my crystals in a long time, your post has inspired me so, Thank You!

    January 10, 2014 at 3:25 pm

  4. Amethyst has always been my go to crystal as well. 🙂 It seems to have that effect on many people. Easy to come by and easy to identify. I should never grow tired of amethyst. Lovely post! -Rori

    January 13, 2014 at 8:46 pm

  5. Pingback: Emergency Ritual Kit | Anonywitch

  6. Pingback: Genus: Lavandula | Anonywitch

  7. Pingback: The Humble Quartz | Anonywitch

Say something

